jump to navigation

Ashok Banker’s Demons of Chitrakut June 8, 2005

Posted by dhar in Misc.
trackback

Ashok Banker’s Demons of Chitrakut is the third in series of his Ramayana books. I had read and thoroughly enjoyed the earlier two: Prince of Ayodhya and Seige of Mithila. So, when on a recent visit to Paperbak I saw this book available, I immediately purchased it expecting to spend a least a couple of hours engrossed in finishing it.

I am almost through the novel and it looks like I was mistaken. Demons of Chitrakut is a major let down; it seems so artificial, so inflated. In fact, it almost reads like the script of a soap opera.

In a fantasy novel, I would look for heroic new quests, romances, powerful beings with magical/supernatural powers, twists in the plot that give readers a reason to turn pages. Unfortunately, Demons of Chitrakut is lacking in all these respects. It is a plain and boring retelling of the Ramayana that we know so well. Worse, the author seems to be filling pages with words.

In this respect the first two books were different, they had quite a few plots/sub-plots wherein they differed from the version we have grown up with. They were also fast paced whereas Demons of Chitrakut meanders and is as slow as molasses.

I am wondering where I can collect my refund from? πŸ˜‰

Comments»

1. Jeet - June 8, 2005

Lagta hai pichli baar sudeep ne itna bura bhala kahan book ke baare main ki banker uncle ne apna writing style hi change kar liya :))

2. Dhar - June 8, 2005

Jeet Man…

I am serious. Banker has a preface wherein he explains quite a few things that had been discussed here.

Anyway, I am hoping that the other book I bought, “One Hundred Years of Solitude” turns out to be more enjoyable. 😦

Cheers,
D.

3. Jeet - June 9, 2005

πŸ™‚ cool. I bought prince of ayodhya recently lekin abhi tak padhi nahin. OHYOS ke reviews bahut acche hain.. I am planning to buy the original spanish one πŸ™‚

4. Pranav - June 9, 2005

Me need books.

5. Anonymous - February 3, 2006

the armies of hanuman iz exellent and,dhar demons of chitrakut itni bhi buri nahi thi

6. Anonymous - February 3, 2006

dhar yaar reply kar jaldi


Leave a Reply

