jump to navigation

New Graphic Novels… July 11, 2005

Posted by dhar in Misc.
trackback

Got two classic Frank Miller Graphic Novels: The Dark Knight Returns and The Dark Knight Strikes Again. The Dark Knight Returns is believed by many to be Miller’s best work ever! Miller’s tale is dark and set in the near future. In this series, the caped crusader’s demons and obsessions completely submerge his sane alter ego Bruce Wayne. And Batman, a violent obssessed vigilante, poles apart from the cheesy do-gooder shown in the Batman TV Series, takes over. It has been Miller’s interpretation of Batman’s psyche that has dominated the character for nearly two decades since.

Have been reading too many of these Graphical Novels. This should be the last set for a long time. Back to One Hundred Years of Solitude after this.

Comments»

1. Anonymous - July 11, 2005

One fine weekend I am coming to your place to read these comics and books. Please 😦

pc

2. Dhar - July 11, 2005

Pranav Man…

You are welcome anytime you feel like coming.

Cheers,
D.

3. monkeypup - July 12, 2005

Dhar-
While Dark Knight Returns is one of my favorite comics of all time, I found the sequel to be very disappointing. I also recommend the impressive Batman: Year One, also by Miller. Fantastic story, and the general basis of the Batman movie that just came out.

4. Dhar - July 12, 2005

Monkeypup… will try and see if I can lay my hands on Batman: Year One.

BTW, never found out how you landed on my blog. Anyway, love your blog. Lots of posts are the kind that I am interested in.

Cheers,
D.

5. monkeypup - July 13, 2005

The internet is a wonderful place, Dhar. Not sure myself, but I think you linked to me once (“Everything I learned from video games is wrong” if memory serves)…

6. Dhar - July 13, 2005

> “Everything I learned from video
> games is wrong”

Ahhh! Yes, your memory is spot on! Now I too remember.

And as you say, the Internet is truly remarkable in this sense. Connecting people who might never ever meet. Wonderful!

Cheers,
D.


Leave a Reply

