jump to navigation

Using Gmail for Note Taking November 15, 2005

Posted by dhar in Misc.
trackback

Often I need to draft quick notes to myself. These could be a set of interesting links that I plan to explore later, a list of actionable items or maybe simply a set of important dates I need to remember. Sometimes these notes need to be edited at a later point in time.

These days I have started using Gmail for this purpose. I compose a mail and save it as a draft. The Subject line is usually a short description of the material in the notes. The advantage of saving it as a draft as compared to mailing it to myself is that I can edit the drafts later to add / delete / modify the information contained therein.

Comments»

1. Sachin Nair - November 15, 2005

I simply use a text document which i have named scratch pad. While the idea is unique way of using drafts a smaller application is generally enough.

If you want your notes to be available over the internet, i suggest 37signals.com.

just my 2 cents πŸ™‚

2. Rohit J - December 1, 2005

I used to use Yahoo Notepad for a long time.
It was a nice little tool, but yahoo guys forgot to integrate it better with other yahoo tools 😦

Recently I shifted to using gmail, but by
mailing things myself. Deletions/additions
are managed through ‘replies’.

And then there are e-postits for todo lists
in office.

Will try drafts sometime.


Leave a Reply

