jump to navigation

Project: Hack the Body January 16, 2006

Posted by dhar in Misc.
trackback

Around July last year, I decided one of my major priorities for the next 6 months would be to get in shape. My logic was simple: a body is like a machine. If a machine can be hacked, so can the human body. All it requires is will and dedication. Project Hack the Body was underway.

A quick visit to the neighbourhood gym revealed how badly out of shape I was. I was 5’6″ and weighed 81 Kgs. My Body Weight Index was 28.8. Arrgh!

I was lucky to get a great instructor at the gym. Ramesh gave me an excellent set of exercises. No weights just floor exercises. But working with Ramesh, I soon realized that my stamina levels were close to zero.

I could do just 15 minutes (at a leisurely 5-6 Kmph) on the treadmill. 4-5 push-ups / 3 – 4 crunches left my muscles aching. After a month or so, I had lost just a kilo. Not great, but a start nevertheless. Along with my daily gym sessions, I also reduced the intake of sugar / fats / oils in my diet

For six months, I slogged in the gym. There were hiccups & stoppages in between: a bout of malaria, a bad motor cycle accident and stuff like that. But the moment I felt slightly better, I hit the gym again. Along the way my stamina has increased. I now regularly run for half an hour at 8 Kmph on the treadmill, easily complete 3 sets of pushups (15 reps) and 3 sets of crunches (10 reps) along with the other exercises Ramesh recommended.

Today, I reached one of my targets. I reduced my weight by 14 Kgs, my waist by 4 inches and my BMI from 28.8 to 24 and damn, I feel good! 🙂

Have another target for the next 6 months and have promised myself a Mac Mini if I attain that.

PS: If anybody is interested, I have a couple of books on body building that you might find useful.

Comments»

1. Jake - January 16, 2006

awesome ! great going buddy. realization hit me rather hard one day, when after just a game of bowling my arm was aching. ach! not good. so i have been going to the gym for 2 months now and yes, i defintely feel better. i have lost about 1.5kgs and can do more of the treadmill. not to mention that tshirts fit better now 😀
oh yes, if those books you have are of the ebook form, pliss be mailing them. and you keep at that gym pal.

2. Dhar - January 16, 2006

Jake, have mailed you stuff!

Cheers,
D.

3. gupta - January 17, 2006

great man .. 14 kgs !! difficult even to imagine the efforts u must have put into this 🙂

4. chand - January 17, 2006

Jeez Dhar, that was awesome!! Congrats!

5. Piyush Garyali - January 17, 2006

Wow! I can understand what you must have felt for I had lost 12 and then gained 7 back!

Now, that you have lost so much weight I would like to tell you that the key is to sustain it all through your life. Never Never Never stop running! Make it a ritual and never never never get back to eating junk! Stay away from Kashmiri cuisine as much as possible.

You must remember that with your body being fit, your BMR is at it’s peak, so much so, even if you are watching TV, your body is burning cals! So, the day you stop exercising thinking it is all done, you will gain all that you have lost in a matter of a month!

From my personal experience, its easy to lose weight the first time but when you have to do it again it is a pain!!

Good job. See you at Jammu! Probably we can go for early morning long runs together 🙂

6. Gaurav - January 17, 2006

14 Kgs Awesome, Many Congratulations!!! I can surely understand that joy since i lost 8 kgs myself and knows very well the amount of effort goes in to reduce.

Hey I would be glad if could you share those ebooks?

Thanks a lot.
Cheers

7. Dhar - January 17, 2006

Gaurav,

Can you please share your email ID. I will send across some stuff that I have.

Cheers,
D.

8. Vivek Kumar - January 18, 2006

Naheeeeeeeeen! Aisa naheen ho sakta!! Keh do ki yeh jhooth hai!!!

Congratulations man! Hope you can keep it up.

*wink wink* I need some tips too 😉

9. Girish Nanappa - January 18, 2006

This post has been removed by the author.

10. Girish Nanappa - January 18, 2006

Having seen the “before” and “after” versions of Dhar, I must say I have to vouch for what he says! Quite Amazing I Say! Did not think he could do it, but Dhar Never Fails (or so he has been claiming of late).

And Dhar, since I have started a similar quest, mail it off the books to me also pliss!

11. Anonymous - January 18, 2006

Dhar sahab,

Please mail me that exercise stuff.

thanx
PraveenJ
praveenjalem AT gmail DIT com

12. Piyush Garyali - January 18, 2006

mail me the stuff too.

13. Anonymous - January 19, 2006

Congrats, Dhar!

I too need to loose some excess weight. Could you email me the books?

hkhrisna AT hotmail DOT com

14. Ravages - January 19, 2006

Sumit, that’s a great achievement. I’ve been working myself too, and after 6 months of walks and jogs and runs, could only manage 5 kilos.
Great!

15. Ranjyte - January 19, 2006

Hack some of those tips into a book, I say. Can even suggest a name for the future bestseller: Bo-D for life!

Must say am impressed with the ‘loss’. Rocking only..

br, RB

16. shawnand - January 22, 2006

plse mail me the stuff uve got on body building

idtoregister@gmail.com

…and we dont get to see much tech stuff on ur blog these days??

17. Anonymous - January 23, 2006

me me.
Just that I need to put on 14kgs and not lose any. 🙂

you owe me…

-pc

18. Sarov - February 15, 2006

Could you please mail me the ebooks?
My mail id is sarovg AT gmail DOT com.

19. Anonymous - February 21, 2006

hi Dhar, why dont you share your exercise tips to everyone in the greatest interest of public 🙂

m.a.qavi@gmail.com

20. Sudhir - February 27, 2006

yeah u should put the soft copies of the books on some ftp server in the interest of public…. public demand samjho yaar !!!

21. Kapil - March 4, 2006

dude…all the KP’s seem 2 face the battle of the bulge..perhaps our DNA needs 2 b hacked in2 n the creepy chromosome starved 2 death

22. Ricky - March 6, 2006
23. Anonymous - April 6, 2006

Dhar dude !
Great achievement.
Mail me the books please.

Thx,
M
murk014 at gmail dot com(it’s murk Zero One Four)

24. Chanakya - April 9, 2006

When I read ‘hack the body’ on your blog, I had no doubt it was about the idiot box. You got me!

Great going and good show. Did you know, Party gags achieved a similar feat. I too have been trying to get my diet right. If you know good books/sites on eating well let me know.

cheers,
CS


Leave a Reply

